Officers of the Children’s League of Massachusetts are elected to serve two-year terms which fall in-line with the Massachusetts legislative calendar.  Our current leadership term began on January 1, 2017.  Officers meet monthly with the Executive Committee to discuss ongoing organization business, public policy updates and other items.

To learn more about CLM’s past leadership, visit CLM History.

Matt Stone

Chair, Children’s League of Massachusetts

Executive Director, Youth Villages

Matt Stone is the Executive Director of Youth Villages Massachusetts and New Hampshire. Matt began his career as a direct care staff on a Youth Villages residential education treatment campus in Memphis. He went on to become director of Youth Villages’ intensive group home programs across Tennessee. No stranger to the Commonwealth, Matt spent every summer of his young life visiting family in Massachusetts. In June 2006, he moved here to become the Executive Director of Youth Villages Massachusetts with the mission of bringing the successful Youth Villages model to the Bay State. Matt holds a Master’s degree in social work from the University of Tennessee and a Bachelor’s degree in psychology from the University of Memphis. In addition to the Children’s League of Massachusetts, Matt is an active member of a number of trade and advocacy organizations. Matt was named in 2011 as one of Boston’s Top 40 under 40 by the Boston Business Journal. Matt is honored and excited to have been selected as  Chair of the Children’s League of Massachusetts.


Anne Sampaio, LICSW

Vice-Chair, Children’s League of Massachusetts

Executive Director, Child and Family Services

Anne is the Executive Director of Child & Family Services, Inc. Anne began her career as an Adoption Social Worker at Child & Family Services. Prior to her appointment as Executive Director, in 2009, Anne held several other positions in the agency including: Outpatient Therapist, Program Manager, Community Support Manager, Grant Writer, Director of Child Welfare Services and Director of the multi-service Fall River Site.

Anne earned her MSW from Boston College in 1989 and has earned and maintained her LICSW licensure since 1991.

She has served on numerous Boards/Consortiums over the years.


Bill Lyttle

Treasurer, Children’s League of Massachusetts

Executive Director, The Key Program

Bill Lyttle has been President of The Key Program since 1977.  He holds a B.A. in Psychology from Boston University, and a M.Ed. in Leadership and Educational Administration from Worcester State College.

He has served in numerous public policy leadership positions including President of the Massachusetts Council of Human Service Providers, Chairperson of the Children’s League of Massachusetts, and Chairperson of the Trustees of Worcester State College. Bill is a founding member of Citizens For Juvenile Justice and has received many awards for leadership including the Richard J. Bond Award for Excellence in Human Services.


Shaheer Mustafa, LICSW

Clerk, Children’s League of Massachusetts

President and CEO,  HopeWell

Shaheer Mustafa joined HopeWell in 2016, bringing a combination of private nonprofit and public service experience.  He oversees HopeWell’s programs and partnerships, manages its resources, and nurtures a positive, inclusive, and transparent organizational culture. Shaheer Mustafa Prior to joining HopeWell Shaheer served as Director of Areas for the Massachusetts Department of Children and Families Arlington and Coastal Area Offices. Shaheer previously served as Director of the Knight’s Children’s Center, a residential school and treatment program of the Home for Little Wanderers, was a faculty member at Simmons College Graduate School of Social Work, Urban Leadership program and is currently a Core Instructor for the Institute for Nonprofit Practice in affiliation with the Jonathan M. Tisch College of Civic Life at Tufts University.  He received a B.S. in Sociology and a Master’s in Clinical Social Work from Boston College and is certified as a Diversity Practitioner from Cornell’s School of Industrial Labor Relations.

Leave Comment